Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   Help!!! I don't know how to finish this vintage Lone Star... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/help-i-dont-know-how-finish-vintage-lone-star-t51037.html)

maporch 06-23-2010 04:48 PM

2 Attachment(s)
A few days, okay... weeks, OKAY... months! ago one of my mom's friends sent me an unfinished, hand-pieced quilt top that her mother began a long time ago and never finished. She has several of her mother's quilts and would love to be able to use this quilt top as well, so she asked me to finish it for her. It's a gorgeous, scrappy Lone Star.

Problem: I don't know how to find the measurements for the setting pieces. Does anyone know how I can measure accurately to be able to finish the quilt top? I've never done a Lone Star before, and so far all I can think of to do is to lay the top over some paper and trace a template for the empty spaces. I would love a better solution!

And after that, I'll need ideas for colors to finish up the top. :) I've attached pictures below.

Moonpi 06-23-2010 05:30 PM

The low-tech way would be to lay out masking tape in a square around it, measure, and add seam allowances. If you give the measurements, there are math whizzes that could give you a precise measurement.

maporch 06-23-2010 05:31 PM

I love that idea! I'll try it, thanks so much!!!

franie 06-23-2010 05:34 PM

Very pretty. Yes there is a way to do setting triangles with the math--but right now I am brain dead. Make them a little bigger than calls for and trim maybe. I have a paper someplace that tells me how to do setting triangles. Also do you have a Quilt Calc--it's on there too.

ktbb 06-23-2010 07:45 PM