Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 14 1 2 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 134

Thread: Really honest opinion?

  1. #1
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,460
    I'm starting my patriotic quilt and I am still not sure about the center block. I had a teddy bear there that I wasn't totally sold on and I've replaced it with a vase and flowers.

    Does it look out of place with the other elements?

    I've looked at it so long and tried so many things that I can't see it objectively. The fabric between the red and blue strips around the center has a vase that looks very like it.

    Attached Images Attached Images    

  2. #2
    Senior Member mamabird3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Fairfield, CA
    Posts
    687
    Pam I like the way the flowers are a soft contrast to the sharp points and lines on the rest of the quilt. It makes it a good focal point and adds more texture to your quilt. I am glad you changed your mind on the bear, I think this is a much better choice.

  3. #3
    BlueChicken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Gone
    Posts
    2,411
    I like this better too... but then I'm not really much of a teddy bear person.


  4. #4
    Senior Member mamabird3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Fairfield, CA
    Posts
    687
    Plus in keeping with the patriotic theme, the flowers are cascading down like fireworks!

  5. #5
    Moderator sharon b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    20,484
    Blog Entries
    10
    I love it ! Looks GREAT
    Sharon

  6. #6
    Super Member SulaBug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    9,380
    Blog Entries
    1
    I do "LOVE" the basket of flowers.
    I am aure what ever you chose, that
    it would look wonderful!!
    :D :D :D :D

  7. #7
    k3n
    k3n is offline
    Power Poster k3n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Somerset, England
    Posts
    10,714
    Blog Entries
    1
    OK - you said honest so I will be! I love the vase and the rest of the quilt but not sure about the two together! So if I say NOT that, I have to come up with an alternative suggestion, right? Eagle? Or how about the Stars and Stripes in the middle too? Or is that too boring? (I do NOT mean that the Stars and Stripes is boring BTW!!!) I know I'm in the minority but I DID like the teddy bear! And I love that fabric in your second pic, what is it called?

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maryville, Tn
    Posts
    1,794
    I very much like the flowers, but if you're looking for symbolism, etc. You could put a tree, like a weeping willow in the center. Trees have always been a symbol of life. I also like the idea of an eagle. Oh...or perhaps a bell...like the liberty bell.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Manitoba
    Posts
    390
    It looks amazing. Worry no more!

  10. #10
    Senior Member Mrs. Mel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    619
    I really like how the vase looks; but I agree with Tippy, I think a weeping willow would be fantastic. Not sure if it is entirely and 'american symbol'; but all your quilts always turn out fabulous Pam.

Page 1 of 14 1 2 11 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.