Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Always lose my points, help!!! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/always-lose-my-points-help-t169750.html)

jcrow 11-24-2011 11:18 PM

Always lose my points, help!!!

I have been quilting since 1992 and have quilted many, many quilts and my favorite block is the star block. But I lose my points every time. I'm doing a star block right now and stomped out of the sewing room in frustration because I am losing my points. I don't know what I am doing wrong. Lately, I've been avoiding anything with points, but then I narrow my selection of patterns quite a bit. I follow the direction correctly. I mean, all my other parts of the quilt are fine. Please tell me what I'm doing wrong.

woody 11-24-2011 11:20 PM

could you show us a picture? Maybe then we could help you more.

jcrow 11-24-2011 11:37 PM

I'm waiting for my new camera so I can take pictures but I'll tell you that I only have less than quarter inch from my points to the edge of my fabrics and when I sew the fabrics together, it takes away a little bit of the point

QM 11-24-2011 11:46 PM

I am guessing you are making an 8 point "sawtooth" star. The most common reason for point cut offs is seam allowances not being uniform. What I was taught to do is check every allowance as you go along until they are regularly right. I generally make my sawtooths with HST blocks, although it is just as easy beginning with flying geese. I cut my HST's 1" larger than the finished size I want. This gives me 1/8" for trimming, after I press and use starch or sizing. When I use the square over a rectangle method, I need to remember to be 1 thread width off the center line with my sewing. Pressing is very important here too.

dublb 11-25-2011 12:47 AM

5 Attachment(s)