Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Doctor's Office Bonus (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/doctors-office-bonus-t174522.html)

LDB 01-05-2012 06:11 AM

Doctor's Office Bonus

My husband recently had a surgical repair to his rotator cuff. When we went to have the stitches removed, the nurse used a brand new sterile pair of forceps and surgical scissors. Sadly for those of us who are ecologically minded, these are specifically designed for single use. Rather than simply disposing of these tools, the nurse asked if we had a use for them. Nice sharp pointed scissors with a tip cover and forceps? You betcha I had a use for them. At least for the scissors. Not sure about the forceps. If you have an event where you have stitches removed, be sure to ask for the scissors if the are simply going to be dispose of in the trash.

raedar63 01-05-2012 06:26 AM

I am a nurse and often collect these, and yes these are wonderful for many things, Fish hooks when fishing and pulling a needle through though layers.

Stitchnripper 01-05-2012 06:27 AM

I asked for, and got mine, the last time I had stitches. they are very handy.

pinkberrykay 01-05-2012 06:47 AM

Thanks for the tip. I may have to have rotator cuff surgery in the near future and ill be sure to ask for mine.

Beachbound 01-05-2012 08:09 AM

My DH had gallbladder surgery on New Year's Eve but they used staples. I wonder what they use to take staples out? You have me wondering!!

cmw0829 01-05-2012 10:08 AM

Originally Posted by pinkberrykay (Post 4844082)
Thanks for the tip. I may have to have rotator cuff surgery in the near future and ill be sure to ask for mine.

Pink, having a husband who had this surgery, please find something less severe to get these tools!!!! :)

sahm4605 01-05-2012 10:12 AM

Originally Posted by Beachbound (Post 4844434)