Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Question for hand quilters (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/question-hand-quilters-t214125.html)

teddysmom 02-18-2013 04:41 AM

Question for hand quilters

I'm fairly new to hand quilting and have had several different answers to this question. Do I start in the middle of the quilt, quilt the width of the quilt in one direction, then turn the quilt to do that same row to the other side of the quilt OR do I quilt in a circular motion always working my way to the outside?

Hinterland 02-18-2013 05:01 AM

It depends on whether you're quilting in a hoop or without a hoop, or in a frame.

When I quilt in a hoop or without one, I start in the center and quilt in a circular motion on my way to the outside.

I usually quilt in a frame, and in the frame I start in the center of the row, quilt toward the edge, then go back to the center and quilt to the other side. And because my frame has 3 poles, I start at the beginning of the quilt.

The theory is I don't want to quilt in any puckers. If I quilt this way, I smooth out the backing and top.

I hope this helps.

Janet

dd 02-18-2013 05:04 AM

I've always worked from the center out. So yes, I work kinda in circles. Kinda the way my life goes.lol

teddysmom 02-18-2013 05:18 AM

Originally Posted by Hinterland (Post 5869519)
It depends on whether you're quilting in a hoop or without a hoop, or in a frame.

When I quilt in a hoop or without one, I start in the center and quilt in a circular motion on my way to the outside.

I usually quilt in a frame, and in the frame I start in the center of the row, quilt toward the edge, then go back to the center and quilt to the other side. And because my frame has 3 poles, I start at the beginning of the quilt.

The theory is I don't want to quilt in any puckers. If I quilt this way, I smooth out the backing and top.

I hope this helps.

Janet