Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Recipes
Date Pinwheel Cookies - do you have a recipe? >

Date Pinwheel Cookies - do you have a recipe?

Date Pinwheel Cookies - do you have a recipe?

Old 12-20-2009, 08:24 AM

It is a Christmas tradition that my DH has date pinwheel cookies. His mother always sends a package with cookies in it, but she is ailing and it looks like this Christmas will pass without the traditional package. I would like to bake some cookies for him, but have no recipe. I did find some on-line, but never having baked them before, I have no knowledge to help me decide which one is any good.

So, I ask you, my friends. I'm sure some of you bake these cookies and can send me a good recipe. Tips would also be appreciated. All the recipes I looked up deal with sticky dough, refrigeration, waxed paper, aluminum wrap and other such devices. Sounds complicated!
Old 12-20-2009, 11:16 AM

Thanks, Loretta. That is one of the recipes I copied out when I went on my search, but there are many recipes with very subtle differences, so I would like to know the one I actually make will be good. Have you made these?
Old 12-20-2009, 11:31 AM
Power Poster

My mom just made me some and I just baked a few of them the other day. I will ask for her recipe and post it for you. These are delicious!!!!!!!! I so love them.
Old 12-20-2009, 04:56 PM
Power Poster

Here's the recipe my mom makes. She makes them every year and has for as long as I can remember. They are absolutely the best!

DATE PINWHEEL COOKIES

FILLING:

2 c. dates chopped fine
1/2c. sugar
1/2c. water

Cook over low heat until thick. Stir constantly.
Add 1 c finely chopped nuts and stir them in.
Set aside to cool.

DOUGH:

SPRY MIXTURE

1 c. spry shortening
1 1/2 t grated orange rind(optional we don't use)
1 1/2 t salt
2 c. packed brown sugar
2 unbeaten eggs

Combine and beat well --set aside

FLOUR MIX

3 1/3 c. all purpose flour
1 1/2 t soda

Mix well.

Add half of the flour mix to the spry mix. Blend well.