Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: looking for recipe for Butter cream icing

Red face looking for recipe for Butter cream icing

At work we are having a "bake off" of cupcakes, and I am looking for an icing recipe that will hold up and not sag when sitting out. Like the ones at the fancy cupcake stores. Any help would be appreciated. thanks Cher in Victoria
    Cher
    Work like you don't need the money.

Check out the icing recipes on the Wilton site. there are some that call for merangue powder as a stabilizer that would work for what you want.

I have this one I received at a cake decorating class. I've been using it to decorate with for over 40 years.
    Buttercream Icing
    1/2 cup solid Crisco ( use the butter flavored one if it's going to be tinted a color)
    1/4 cup of milk
    1/2 teas. white vanilla (if tinting, can be regular vanilla)
    2 drips of butter flavoring (can be bought at Walmart or through a cake decorating store)
    1 box of powdered sugar (Domino works best and I always buy an extra amount just in case the icing is thin)
    2 Tablespoons of clear corn syrup to keep frosting from cracking

Mix for four minutes on low speed.

It's easy to make and is always good. This recipe doesn't leave that greasy taste in the roof of your mouth as store bought cakes have.
    Karen in Kentucky

No butter? No Cream?
    How can it be called Butter Cream?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I make an icing with the following: