Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
What color border would you use? >

What color border would you use?

What color border would you use?

Old 06-23-2011, 01:22 PM

This is my second pieced quilt..I did the Summer In the Park using 2- Pick A Bunch Jelly Rolls by Nancy Mims for Robert Kaufman & 2- Moda Bella Solids White Jelly Rolls.

I want a white border with a matching color from the quilt top and I think the backing would look good matching the color part of the border. Do I put the white border next to the pieced top or the color border next to the pieced top. I also want to put a binding on...so don't know what color to make it.

So far the quilt top is 80 in long and 72 in wide. I will be hand quilting it.

Any help with the color choice would be so appreciated...I am not good at that..that is why I love the collections..they have done it for me.
Thanks a bunch!! Hugs, Dee in Oklahoma
Attached Thumbnails attachment-215725.jpe   attachment-215726.jpe  
Old 06-23-2011, 01:31 PM

I would do the color border first to give the eye a rest - before adding the white border. As for binding, I would piece together the strips and make it one colorful binding! Good luck.. Beautiful quilt, by the way
Old 06-23-2011, 01:32 PM

I would do a really narrow border in a bold color - the dark blue or red and then I'd probably try to find a bold print that picks up a few of the other colors for the outer border.......just my random opinion :)
Old 06-23-2011, 01:33 PM
Power Poster

Hi Dee, that's such a lovely quilt. My opinion is a narrower white border, then a wider one from the color of your choice with matching binding.
I don't like white bindings b/c they don't always stay white LOL
Old 06-23-2011, 01:44 PM
Power Poster