Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilting Macine - I am in the dark! >

Quilting Macine - I am in the dark!

Quilting Macine - I am in the dark!

Old 11-15-2011, 03:12 PM

Default Quilting Macine - I am in the dark!

I am just a self-taught quilter. I've only done hand piecing and quilting. I do have some placemats machine pieced, but not sandwiched yet, so that I can try quilting them on my old Viking 940 machine that I love. (I want to do more machine work, so much quicker.) I see all the references on this site to long-arm quilting machines, medium arms, etc. I honestly do not know one from the other, and want to know. So, I'm just gonna show my ignorance and ask! Are these regular sewing machines, or if not, how do they differ from regular machines? Are they all stand-alone units, or do they require the big quilting frames? Are there quilting machines that just do it all automatically? I know, I know ... I told you I was ignorant about them! LOL Enquiring minds want to know!!! Teach me, please!
Old 11-15-2011, 03:57 PM

when people refer to short, mid, or long arm they are speaking about a machine that goes onto a quilting frame and you stand up and quilt the sandwich by moving the machine, that's placed into a carriage, over the quilt sandwich.

you can buy quilting robotics to do the quilting for you on a quilting frame.

some people are able to use their embroidery machine to do the quilting - which is another way of doing the quilting with robotics.

most people do leave their machines on the quilting frame all the time so they typically have one machine just for quilting and another just for piecing.

recently mid and long arm machines are being produced to sit inside a table so that you can sit down and quilt instead of standing at a quilting frame.

its really a matter of personal taste - some people love to sit and quilt and others love to stand and frame quilt.