Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
free motion quilting >

free motion quilting

free motion quilting

Old 03-01-2013, 11:31 AM

Default free motion quilting

I used the wrong title on my last post. I was advised by a sales person I could buy embroidery hoops bigger ones and section off my quilt that way to FMQ. I have never done FMQ before and scared to ruin the quilt. I have practiced a little but no actual design. Do you just start sewing or how do you put a design on the quilt? I have made quilts that I could just stitch in the ditch around the squares by my next pinwheel I want to FMQ. My last pinwhile I tied with yarn.
Thanks,
Evelyn
Old 03-01-2013, 01:43 PM
Banned

It is difficult to give detailed instructions in this small space. Have you searched the web for tutorials for instruction. If you have not done FMQ before as you indicate I suggest you do some research for the basics and then spend a lot of practice before attempting a large quilt. And no, large embroidery hoops are not usully used in FMQ. Sometime they are used by quilters but again it takes knowing the basics and having some skill in the technique.
Old 03-01-2013, 02:39 PM