Finally....

Old 07-20-2014, 08:30 AM

Default Finally....

Hello! I have lurked around this board for awhile....I learned to sew on my gramma's treadle machine in the '50's, and have always hoped to own one. Recently retired, I have been catching up on some furniture restoration projects as a complete novice. Anywhooooooo.....driving home last evening, ( we live out in the country), I spotted this on the curb....did a really fast u-turn....went to the door to make sure they didn't leave it there for someone, and got a little history. Was the owner's grandmother's machine, and her mom had told her to " hold onto it"....which she had, for several years, but she does not sew and decided to clean out the basement....she was glad it's going to someone who appreciates it....I told her I will bring her pictures when it's all pretty'd up! My DH has offered to restore cabinet and machine, but I told him not to touch it until we research this process a bit!
Words of wisdom for newbies will be greatly appreciated! There are parts, bobbins, a shuttle, needles, feet in the drawer.....Minnesota model A....
Attached Thumbnails image.jpg   image.jpg  
Old 07-20-2014, 08:54 AM

Nice save!
There's a sticky at the top of the column here on how to clean older machines. It's a very good place to start.
I don't know much about Minnesota machines, they may be an old Sears brand. Others here can tell you far more.

Use sewing machine oil or Tri-flow-a light synthetic oil to clean and oil it. Other oils can be too thick, damage the finish, or both. Don't use products like WD-40. They're not a good long term lubricant and some may damage the finish.
The black finish is actually japanning, a type of baked on finish with decals applied then a top coat of shellac to protect the decals. Strong solvents will destroy your decals. Water might too if the top coat is damaged.