Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Prepping blocks for squaring up >

Prepping blocks for squaring up

Prepping blocks for squaring up

Old 08-03-2014, 09:05 PM

Default Prepping blocks for squaring up

I looked in the archives and didn't really find exactly what I was looking for. I'm new to quilting so please be easy on me. I am making a Turning Twenty quilt. I have all my blocks finished and now I'm at the point of squaring them up. I'm sure I'll get several answers which is great but I would appreciate an explanation as to why you use your chosen method. The question is how do you prep your block for squaring up? Just pressing it? Press with steam? Press with starch? If you use starch what type? Such as light, heavy? You guys get the idea.

I don't want to miss any steps that will help me have a more accurate quilt. I am working on perfecting my seam allowance but it's defiantly something that takes time even when using a 1/4" foot.

Any and all advise will be greatly appreciated!!
Old 08-03-2014, 09:37 PM

When I square up a block, I do iron it with steam first - some times I use starch, but not always, when i do I use Best Press. I have several square rulers and use them to measure and trim the blocks. When I did the Turning Twenty quilt, I was using Halloween fabrics and felt the quilt looked better with sashing between the blocks.

I have plans to do a Christmas version since the Halloween quilt came out so cute.
Old 08-04-2014, 02:06 AM
Power Poster