Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Would love advice on how to quilt this. >

Would love advice on how to quilt this.

Would love advice on how to quilt this.

Old 12-06-2014, 01:39 PM

Default Would love advice on how to quilt this.

So I've finally finished this quilt top. I'd love some advice as to how to quilt it. I'm a novice, having done just a few smallish, simple quilting projects so far. I'd like to keep it simple--partly because it's such a modern pattern, partly because it's going to my adult son, and partly -- well, I'm a novice.

Quilting with the walking foot and some fmq on my domestic machine is what I'm thinking -- no marking. Any ideas?

By the way, here's a link to the pattern (Urban Abacus by Sew Kind of Wonderful), in case I mess up on uploading the picture. Thanks.

http://sewkindofwonderful.com/collec...ban-collection

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 12-06-2014 at 02:20 PM. Reason: remove copyright image
Old 12-06-2014, 01:52 PM
Power Poster

I would SID each row and then do some FMQ using the fabric as guidelines inside each lantern. I might also do a curvy line down the center of each plank.
Old 12-06-2014, 02:02 PM
Power Poster

Love this pattern. Maybe do some echoing on interior of the globes then SID.
Old 12-06-2014, 02:18 PM

I like both of your ideas, guys. Think I might combine them -- echoing (1 line or 2?) inside the globes, SID the rows, and curvy lines in the planks. Wish me luck! Of course, I still have the hardest part ahead of me first--making the actual quilt sandwich. A job for tomorrow, I think.
Old 12-06-2014, 02:45 PM
Power Poster

Depending on the batting you used will determine how much quilting the quilt requires. I would definitely keep it simple with stitching in the ditch. Look for a simple design that you can free motion for the center of the lanterns.
Old 12-06-2014, 04:11 PM

Thanks, ManiacQuilter2. I'm using Warm&Natural, which apparently needs to be quilted every 10", giving me more options for "simple."