Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
hoop ? >

hoop ?

hoop ?

Old 01-31-2017, 10:53 AM

Default hoop ?

I am getting ready ( finally) to sit down and start hand quilting my baby quilt. My question is : how long can you leave a quilt in the hoop? Over night ok or should it be removed after each quilting session? I plan on quilting on it a few hours daily. If I should remove it after each session, I will. Just didn't know if it is ok and better to leave it in the hoop until said section was completely done. Where I am new to this I can not say I will get a whole hoop size of the quilt done in one session. I am not going for speed, but consistency in stitches and if that takes me longer so be it .

Thank you all for the help you give daily to me and others like me who have found a new craft to love.
Old 01-31-2017, 10:59 AM
Banned

Due to strange circumstances, I once left a quilt in the hoop for more than 10 years. No harm done at all.
Old 01-31-2017, 11:03 AM

Popover, that is very reassuring thank you. Sorry your quilt stayed in the hoop so long, did you get it finished though?
Old 01-31-2017, 11:15 AM

i leave in hoop, except to reposition, until i am done. like popover, i left one wall hanging on scroll frame, which i use for minis and smaller wallhangings, for over ten years. the arthritis in my hands is bad, painful, stiff fingers. i like to have a "warm-up" project to work on for an hour or so to help fingers 'loosen' up and until the stitches are nice. then i start on project to be gifted, as all my quilts have been so far. one wall hanging of 31x26 took me about 13 yrs from cutting out blocks to last stitch in binding ..and no harm done from it being pinned to frame strips for all those years.
Old 01-31-2017, 11:28 AM