Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Pacific International Quilt Festival >

Pacific International Quilt Festival

Pacific International Quilt Festival

Old 09-29-2018, 02:09 PM

Default Pacific International Quilt Festival

People, I would like some tips and advice. I am a very amateur quilter. For the first time I have the opportunity to attend a huge quilt show. I am limited on my ability to walk long distances or stand forever on my feet. So, those of you who have gone to something like this, what would you recommend I do. What is my plan of action? I found out about this show too late to pre-register for demonstrations or lectures. I will check but don’t have high hopes there will be openings at this late date. I do want to see at least some of the amazing show entries and definitely check out the venders. Do you have any tips for me? PIQF will be October 11-14 in Santa Clara, California and to be honest, it intimidates me a bit. Edited to add a thank you to any who can help.
Old 09-29-2018, 02:55 PM

Rent a motorized chair
Old 09-29-2018, 04:04 PM

If you have one, bring a walker with a seat. It is easier to move around with than the motorized chair and will give you a chance to rest when you want to. Very comfortable shoes and clothes. A very large carry bag (cannot be a roller) to put any purchases in. Ride it on the seat of your walker until you need to sit down. Babylock, and other machine vendors give out free bags, grab several! If you fill one, go check it in for about 5 dollars. Make sure & write your name on it in big letters. Bring your big black marker with you. Take a picture of the tag they give you so you won't have to find it at the end of the day.