Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Complete novice needs helps please >

Complete novice needs helps please

Complete novice needs helps please

Old 01-19-2019, 12:04 PM

Red face Complete novice needs helps please

Hi all,
I'm looking for some help please, Never. ever tried quilting before, I usually do needlepoint and cross stitch.

Having made several needlepoint rugs and cushions, I decided it would be rather neat to make a quilt using the same designs (glutton for punishment or what!).

Anyway the cross stitch panels I've made are about 16" (40cm) square - like this one.[ATTACH=CONFIG]607032[/ATTACH]

I have batting, but no idea how to go about turning them into a quilt - do I sew all the squares together and then quilt them or sew each square onto a piece of batting and then quilt them individually then sew them together.

I intend to quilt around each flower.

Also what it the best thread to use to hand quilt them. The squares are 27 count Zweigart Linda pure cotton and the batting is bamboo and cotton mix.

Thank you for reading, hope someone can give a complete dummy some help.
Attached Thumbnails eb-hibiscus-image.jpg  
Old 01-19-2019, 12:27 PM

I would think something as lovely as your cross stitch panels would not lend themselves particularly well to the function of a quilt. That is, a quilt that would be used. Maybe wall hangings? As a wall hanging, each square could be padded with batting. You wouldn't need much quilting if it wasn't going to be actually used/laundered/drug in the dirt/used as a fort.
I'm not much help. Someone will be along who has done what you suggest.
Just before I hit the "enter" button, an image of a bed spread with those panels came to mind. Lovely. Not too fluffy, with each panel bordered in a matching green with some texture. Hmmm. I hope someone can help you.
Old 01-19-2019, 01:25 PM

Oh, that is so gorgeous! I'd probably put it in a frame.ha. It is absolutely wonderful. Someone else will have to help you in a quilt. Not I.