Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Fusible batting, overwhelmed rookie >

Fusible batting, overwhelmed rookie

Fusible batting, overwhelmed rookie

Old 01-05-2010, 08:35 PM

I am embarrassed to admit that I made such a stupid mistake. I am just starting out but have been building up my stash and owned my sewing machine for years. But, I read some books and thought I knew what I was doing. I'm making a patchwork quilt. I bought the backing and washed and cut and assembled that along with all of the patches for the quilt-top. Then I made the sandwich with this fusible batting I found at the store (ironed it all together without stitching anything). Now, I'm starting to realize that I skipped the step of sewing the top patches together before quilting the entire sandwich together. I do have to sew the top together first, right?
Old 01-05-2010, 08:45 PM

If I understand what you described, then yes. Whatever block pattern you have cut the pieces out for, you have to piece them first....piece the top. Then you sandwich batting and backing and quilt. Did the pattern call for fusible batting?(just curious)

There is a fusible grid method where you cut all your block pieces, fuse them to the grid and then sew the material on the grid (including the grid) row by row. See this Youtube demo here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_ouaGvIno0
Old 01-05-2010, 08:53 PM

LOL. I didn't use a pattern. Just had this idea in my head and wanted it to be random patches with a color scheme of greens yellows and pinks. I can't believe what a large project I decided to take on for my first quilt. And, how much $$$ i've spent on fabrics and tools. I'm pretty frustrated. Feel like an idiot. I'll post some pics of my beautiful but painfully unstitched quilt...
Attached Thumbnails attachment-63344.jpe  
Old 01-05-2010, 09:06 PM