Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Advice on Binding Attachment for Bernina Record 830 >

Advice on Binding Attachment for Bernina Record 830

Advice on Binding Attachment for Bernina Record 830

Old 03-10-2016, 03:06 AM

Default Advice on Binding Attachment for Bernina Record 830

Hi All,

I am a newbie both to quilting and this board. I am wanting to purchase a binding attachment for my "Old Faithful" Bernina 830 Record Machine. I have done a lot of looking on EBay. There seems to be quite a few out there, but the question is will they work on my machine - and is it better to buy one that has the wire on the end to guide the fabric. Any advice would be immensely appreciated.

Many thanks

Biddsley
Old 03-11-2016, 02:06 AM

I didn't know there was such a thing as a binding attachment. I just stitch it on and am thankful if I've made it that far. Just try to take your time. You could also use a glue stick of you are afraid of it shifting.
Old 03-11-2016, 04:55 AM

I don't have a Bernina, but I think their feet are a bit different than a regular low shank or high shank foot. Make sure it will fit your Bernina before you buy!
I purchased a binding foot for my low shank machines, and found it would work well for binding things like aprons or tea towels, but did not work well for binding a quilt due to the thickness of the batting. But maybe I am just using it the wrong way...
Old 03-11-2016, 09:29 PM

The Bernina binding attachment come 4 different ways -- pre-folded binding and non-prefolded binding, and two sizes of each. They're about $230. The #94 o4 #95 foot comes with it. Then there's a "Simple Binder," which I've never had the privledge of selling or using in my 11 years of working at a Bernina store. I don't think they work.
Old 03-14-2016, 10:03 PM

Thank you Ladies for your replies.