Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Can JB weld work on something like this? >

Can JB weld work on something like this?

Can JB weld work on something like this?

Old 10-15-2012, 10:51 AM

Default Can JB weld work on something like this?

So, I was humming along, cleaning and reassembling a 128, almost finished completely, just had to get the bobbin winder back together, and I could test sew it, then it happened.

The body of the winder fell apart in my hand!

Now I have to decide if I want to try to JB weld the piece that broke, or find one to buy online somewhere.

The only one I've seen is pretty rough compared to this one, but I think once there's JB weld on this one, it'll trump rough. *sigh*

DH says it will look bad, because it will have a blob of JB weld. Bad but working... worth it?
Can you even JB weld cast? (I'm new to this particular avenue of repair, does it show?)

I guess what I'm wondering / concerned about is the sheer strength of the JBW. It will have to be able to take pressure from the gear side, the tire side and the bobbin side.
Attached Thumbnails 128bobbinwinder.jpg  

Last edited by ArchaicArcane; 10-15-2012 at 11:00 AM.
Old 10-15-2012, 11:54 AM

Oh, I'm so sorry to see this. My dad was a welder and he called this, white metal..... really hard to 'weld'. But I'd think trying some JB weld would be worth it. If it doesn't work, you're no worse off.... have to find a new one at that point. I'd try it. Good luck.

nanna
Old 10-15-2012, 12:23 PM

Yes, you can JB Weld it. Clean it with denatured alcohol first then put the JB weld on and try to clamp it. Let it set for at least 24 hours then clean off the excess JB W and paint it with model paint or a Magic Marker.
How long it will hold is the question. Preparation of the broken places is critical. All oil, paint, dirt must be removed.

After that, hunt down one that's not broken.

Joe
Old 10-15-2012, 01:04 PM