Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Does anyone know anything about this machine? >

Does anyone know anything about this machine?

Does anyone know anything about this machine?

Old 04-09-2017, 04:01 PM

Default Does anyone know anything about this machine?

I inherited this machine from my mother, it used to belong to her mother. I haven't plugged it in because the cords are in really bad shape. I didn't know if it might be an oldie worth something or just an oldie. Thank you for looking.
Attached Thumbnails img_0180.jpg   img_0183.jpg   img_0182.jpg   img_0181.jpg   img_0186.jpg  

Old 04-09-2017, 05:51 PM

I'm no expert, but I would say the machine is just an old machine. It appears to me to be a Japanese 15 clone. Some of those are desirable, but not terribly valuable. If the are in pristine condition and pink, blue or some other color than black, you could get a few bucks for it. It probably sews well, though. You might give it to someone who needs a sewing machine

The cabinet is nice, though.

I hope someone contradicts me.

bkay
Old 04-09-2017, 07:41 PM

Definitely NOT a Japanese clone - see http://www.quiltingboard.com/picture...p-t164361.html Lots of differences between this machine and the later Japanese machines.

Definitely worth something, as far as I'm concerned any old machine is worth saving from the dump or being repurposed. It can be rewired. It is a direct drive and probably the rubber drive has a dent in it. It might be able to be replaced or rejuvenated. Hopefully, you have some of the other feet for it, as the top clamp feet came in many different flavors.

That is a neat cabinet. Comparatively, it looks to be in fairly good shape and shouldn't be too hard to get looking pretty nice. Glenn's wood cabinet tutorial (which I can't find right now) has a formula that is fairly simple and makes the wood look good. I like the design.

Janey - Neat people never make the exciting discoveries I do.