Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
How much does that singer 320 / 401 weigh ?? >

How much does that singer 320 / 401 weigh ??

How much does that singer 320 / 401 weigh ??

Old 09-13-2015, 10:17 PM

Default How much does that singer 320 / 401 weigh ??

Hi all,
I have just bought my first sewing machine at 62yrs old .OK I'm a carpenter/builder so maybe not that unusual .

I have received my 401G ($81) today ,in its case with 3 strips of sellotape around the base as 'packaging' !!!?? and still managed to get here in one piece as far as I can tell.

I am wanting to buy a 320 but need to know the weight for the shipping company.Can someone please tell me what it would weigh approx.I would imagine the 401 , 320 or others of the era would be close enough.

photos to follow
Old 09-14-2015, 12:03 AM

Welcome to the group, it is never too late to start a new hobby and one that is this fun is really awesome. You were really lucky to receive your machine in one piece with no packing! So many are not so lucky. I can't help you with the weight but wanted to welcome you. Would love to see pics.
Old 09-14-2015, 12:49 AM

Hi,thanks for the welcome.
Here is the first one .... seems to run ok ,but all metal parts look a little dry ,there is old oil streaks on the out side so has been oiled at some time.
Attached Thumbnails dpp_0001.jpg  
Old 09-14-2015, 12:55 AM

Here is the new 320 ,just bought online (hasnt been sent yet).This person wants me to organize shipping AND packaging ??!!
Whats wrong with these people ??
Attached Thumbnails 395863177.jpg  

Last edited by headonz; 09-14-2015 at 12:57 AM.
Old 09-14-2015, 02:01 AM

By the time you add packing material and the box, I'd guess about 30-35 lbs. Those older machines have some weight to them.
Old 09-14-2015, 02:55 AM