Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: I need an opinion on this machine, please

  1. #1
    Member Wantaquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41

    I need an opinion on this machine, please

    I found this machine for $50. Does anyone know what it is besides a vintage Singer, and a very pretty one at that? Also, is that a good price? The cabinet looks to be in good shape. All opinions are welcome. Thanks for looking at it for me.
    Vicki
    Attached Images Attached Images        

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    54
    On the front plate, right side at the bottom, is a model number. You can go to www.singer.com and poke around. You will find a link to tell you about the machine, at least when it was made.

  3. #3
    Member Wantaquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41
    The machine is about 2 hrs. from me, and my sister is going to go look at it for me. I found it on CL and was just really hoping someone here might already recognize it and be able to tell me more. The ad said it was from the early 70's but not much more than that. I will see if my sister can get the number off of it so that I can look it up. Thanks for your help.
    Vicki

  4. #4
    Member Wantaquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41
    OK, I just looked at the pics again and I can see that it says Model 348. I will see what I can find for that.

  5. #5
    Super Member cabbagepatchkid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    First....Welcome to the forum

    That cabinet looks awesome!! The vintage machines are wonderful, too, and very addictive--you can't have just one There is a Yahoo group for Vintage Singer machines. You can learn lots from the members and also info that they have in their files.
    ~~Cathy~~

  6. #6
    Senior Member cmrenno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    399
    It looks exacly like one my mom had when I was a kid. It brought back a lot of memories for me. Looks like a good sturdy machine.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Michellesews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    El Paso Texas
    Posts
    638
    The cabinet alone is worth $50.00!
    Michelle Guadarrama

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    772
    It IS an oldie but a goodie and my mom had one that did yeoman service. The cabinet alone is worth that. Machines are not made this way anymore

  9. #9
    Senior Member sewnbug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Mid MIchigan
    Posts
    563
    The cabinet is very nice. I"d say it's worth $50.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N. Florida
    Posts
    4,667
    Blog Entries
    45
    Here's a little information about the Singer 348 from the Singer website. The model name is Style Mate and you can still get a manual for it.

    http://www.singerco.com/accessories/...manuals/search

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.