Information, Please!

Old 06-10-2013, 10:16 AM

Default Information, Please!

Hello, All! I'm a very new beginner in the quilting scene, and since coming to this site, I see that you all are very enthusiastic about old sewing machines, specifically the featherweight ones. My question is, what sets these old machines apart, and why do y'all love them? Are they more heavy-duty? The reason I'm asking is that I saw an old, old black Singer sitting in a box in the corner of a resale shop, and almost bought it. However, I've had old machines, and almost had one shock me (as in electrocute), so I've kinda been burned, lol. But if it's a good (read dirt cheap) price I might drag it home and work with it if there's a chance that it will be a good investment.
Old 06-10-2013, 10:33 AM

They're real workhorses and sew fantastic straight stitches. Most can be restored or maintained without going to the shop. If you got shocked on a vintage machine it was probably because the wiring needed to be replaced. When they get to be 60-80 years old that's one thing that needs to be checked.
Old 06-10-2013, 11:04 AM

The FW is light especially if you have to wag it to class.... Hugs
Old 06-10-2013, 11:29 AM

Most - but not all - of the vintage machines are easy to operate, easy to maintain, and sew an almost perfect straight stitch with no operator guidance. You can feed the fabric in and it will never sway from left to right .. just straight ahead (I'm talking about straight stitch only machines - NOT zig zag vintage machines).

Easy to maintain ... no computer boards to worry about, they can be stripped down and cleaned inside and out easily. I love the fact that *I* can fix my sewing machine.
Easy to use ... as I said just feed the fabric in and little guidance is needed. Many of the vintage machines have a stitch length regulator, and some have a mechanism to drop the feed dogs.