Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Newbie to Vintage Machines and to Online Forums-Help wanted >

Newbie to Vintage Machines and to Online Forums-Help wanted

Newbie to Vintage Machines and to Online Forums-Help wanted

Old 08-26-2013, 09:52 PM

Default Newbie to Vintage Machines and to Online Forums-Help wanted

I found it-a way to post a new thread. (Just took a little more digging)
So here is what I posted earlier in someone else's thread. (They probably thought I had lost my mind because it so didn't have anything to do with their thread. Sorry about that. I promise to learn quickly.)

I am new to this whole process, but I am more than willing to learn. So any tips or pointers are greatly appreciated.

I received a new "old" baby today. A beautiful fiddle base 127-year-old Singer sewing machine. It was cleaned and works as smooth as a whistle. I love sewing and quilting, and I can't wait to make a quilt top on my treadle machine, but I need some help. I have access to at least one metal base with a treadle. But I don't have a cabinet for a fiddleback machine, and I'm not sure I can find one. I'm wondering if there are directions or a pattern for making a cabinet. I have two wonderful carpenters, my husband and son, who I have no doubt could make almost anything. I also have another son who is a master craftsman with a milling machine who can make almost anything out of metal. (Aren't I lucky?) Any help with directions or a pattern would be greatly appreciated.