Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Electro Grand My first fixer upper:/ need a coach. (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/electro-grand-my-first-fixer-upper-need-coach-t220305.html)

sambra 04-29-2013 12:17 PM

Electro Grand My first fixer upper:/ need a coach.

Hi every one! I an a total newby, first post; although I have been lurking for months and just love to read the threads. I have an Electro Grand that has been just sitting in my house for atleast 10 years. It was my husbands grandmother. It runs so quiet but I just cant seem to adjust the tension. It doesn't seem to be fit right. I cant find a specific repair for it. Not a whole lot of info on it to be found. I want to take it completely apart and clean it but I am so chicken. It is not as old as some on this board, I am thinking it is from the 50's or early 60's. I have the manual but all it has is oiling instructions. It came to me with a box of greist attachments with a manual dated 1957. I will post a pic as soon as I figure out how. It has a wonderful cabinet that it pops right down into. Any advise on its care would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Melissa in Ky.

sambra 05-01-2013 07:48 AM

I think i may have the top tension straitened out. I took it all apart and cleaned it. The odd thing is I could not find an exact example of it to go by, It doesnt have the 2 tension plates that I see on most of the older machines. Now if I could just get the bobbin tension right. Back to the old drawing board.

SteveH 05-01-2013 02:09 PM

welcome on your journey out of the shadows!!!

I'm looking forward to the pictures. I am mostly up to speed on the really old machines (Pre-1885) but i'd love to help you troubleshoot your machine..

miriam 05-02-2013 03:01 AM