Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/)
-   -   Which Singers had the round plate surrounding the stitch length lever? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage-antique-machine-enthusiasts-f22/singers-had-round-plate-surrounding-stitch-length-lever-t230480.html)

J Miller 09-17-2013 07:35 PM

Which Singers had the round plate surrounding the stitch length lever?

My wife and I are trying to remember something. Which of the old style black Singer machines had the round plate surrounding the stitch length / reverse lever.

I can only think of two. The Mdl 15s and the 201s. Were there any more and what would the model #s be?

Thanks.

Joe

nanna-up-north 09-18-2013 03:49 AM

Joe, I think I read that those are the only two with the round plate/stitch length. But I'm no expert....know that someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

Macybaby 09-18-2013 05:38 AM

of the old black style, I think those are the only two domestic models that way. Don't know about industrial as I don't look at those pictures much.

J Miller 09-18-2013 08:28 AM

Thanks for the info. No the machine was not an industrial. The one my wife was trying to remember is the one she learned to sew on so long ago.
She distinctly remembers it was the old black style Singer, with a knee bar control and the round plate around the SL / R lever, and she thinks the tension was on the front, not the face plate. And she doesn't think it had a belt. But she can't remember for sure.

Knowing her mom and the way she only bought the best of things my guess is a 201-2. But there is no way to tell now.

Joe

Macybaby 09-18-2013 11:58 AM

I learned on a 201-2 also.