Question about presser foots

Old 02-13-2015, 09:35 AM

Talking Question about presser foots

Newbie here ... I hope to get some direction on how I'm thinking.

When I learned to quilt many years ago, I was using mom's old Kenmore machine. It was a beautiful ancient machine and so easy to work with. I remember how I would change the presser foot by pulling a little lever on the back and it would plop off, and I could easily attach a button-hole foot or any of the 5 or 6 various feetsies that came with the machine.

I still have this machine but unfortunately one day I dropped the gas pedal and broke the edge off, so no power. This was Christmas two years ago and my wonderful Hubby bought me a brand new machine for Christmas that year. I have worked on it since then and love sewing with it but recently when I took up quilting again, I realize the presser foot is "different".

It doesn't simply eject the foot to change for another one, and the only other foot I received with the machine is a button-hole doohickey. For the life of me I can't figure out how that foot comes off!

As long as I am quilting with low loft batting and thin fabrics I am getting along well but now my curiosity is burning. Am I going to be forced into buying a fancy Quilting Machine in order to dig deep into my Quilt Love? and YES I looked for the manual but it didn't come with one, just a link to a PDF online of "How To Sew" ... and I have searched all over the internetz for information about this machine but have found nothing... What am I doing wrong?

(and yes, if some wise expert said, "Hey Stefuny you need to buy a fancy-schmancy quilting machine," I wouldn't be too disappointed...)
Old 02-13-2015, 10:26 AM

Welcome Stefuny!