Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Questions about working with Shellac >

Questions about working with Shellac

Questions about working with Shellac

Old 06-06-2015, 09:59 AM

Default Questions about working with Shellac

I stripped the Necchi cabinet to bare wood and am using amber Shellac to finish it. The plan is to let the Shellac cure and then use Bri-wax with a steel wool to finish it.

This is my first time working with Shellac. For the most part I've gathered a piece of T-shirt into a smooth pom to wipe the Shellac on. I did use a small artist brush to get into corners at times. Now that I am further along the Shellac is drying quickly and it's become a race. I tried dipping into boiled linseed oil a bit first before the shellac ad that helped BUT I still have a few drips and boogered up areas where the cloth dragged. Sanding drips leave uneven light spots. Denatured alcohol with my finger poked into a bit of T-shirt smooths both the roughness and color but leaves a dull spot.

My questions to the Shellac Gods are: Will the Bri-wax even out the dull spots? Or...will I have to add another coat?

If adding another coat, can I thin it first with denatured alcohol?
Old 06-06-2015, 10:13 AM

I also use clean rags to do my shellacking. I just use it dipped and wipe fast and light. I don't put it on heavy.
Once your existing coats are dry try some 4 O steel wool to even it up. Then put another light coat on it.

Oh and if you don't know this, you need to stir your shellac once in a while to keep it mixed up.

The Bri-Wax will not even out the shellac, but it will make it look nice.

Joe
Old 06-06-2015, 10:31 AM

Originally Posted by J Miller View Post
I also use clean rags to do my shellacking. I just use it dipped and wipe fast and light. I don't put it on heavy.
Once your existing coats are dry try some 4 O steel wool to even it up. Then put another light coat on it.