should I buy this

Old 04-09-2013, 11:34 AM

Default should I buy this

I found a Japanese clone at Goodwill today. I am new to vintage machines. Should I pick up machines for parts if I really don't know what I am doing or just stay with machines that are in great condition? The machine today was missing the slide plate but the belts looked good and I am concerned about the motor as it seems to have a residue on it. It has the bobbin case and a bobbin. The flywheel moves freely. At 29.99 is it worth it?
Old 04-09-2013, 11:46 AM

I would say to hold off and start with one in good sewing condition to play with as a first machine. Then you'll be more familiar with what to look for when you buy a fixer upper. Some slide plates are easier to come by than others. Check your local Freecycle and Craigslist for a goodie. Good Luck!
Old 04-09-2013, 01:15 PM

Originally Posted by GheckoAZ View Post
I found a Japanese clone at Goodwill today. I am new to vintage machines. Should I pick up machines for parts if I really don't know what I am doing or just stay with machines that are in great condition? The machine today was missing the slide plate but the belts looked good and I am concerned about the motor as it seems to have a residue on it. It has the bobbin case and a bobbin. The flywheel moves freely. At 29.99 is it worth it?
Yes, it's worth it. I'd try to talk them down to at least $25.00 because of the expense of the slide plate though. Those can be easily had from Sew-Classic { http://www.shop.sew-classic.com/Plat...Plates_c14.htm }

Most motors are dirty. Most of them have oil ports and have been well oiled. I've only bought one clone with a bad motor and that was because the internal fan had fragged. The motor still ran good, but without a cooling fan it wouldn't have lasted long.

At $29.00 and no shipping I already would have had it home and running.

Joe
Old 04-09-2013, 02:38 PM