Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Is there a list somewhere on what machines or not so good? >

Is there a list somewhere on what machines or not so good?

Is there a list somewhere on what machines or not so good?

Old 10-03-2013, 06:57 AM

Default Is there a list somewhere on what machines or not so good?

I am just learning about vintage machines and I would like to know which ones to stay away from.
Old 10-03-2013, 08:02 AM
Banned

Since opinions on what makes a machine "good" or "not so good" vary A LOT, The attempt to make such a list would most likely just devolve into debate. Which could be fun....
Old 10-03-2013, 08:17 AM

Steph,

What Steve said and I'll add this. In the 50s plastic or nylon began to be used in sewing machines. By the 70s many Singers and other brands were using plastic gears and other parts. Machines that would have been good durable designs died early deaths because of the plastic parts. In the 80s they began to use aluminum skeletons inside plastic clam shell bodies. Those machines work but are anything but durable. Their internal parts are stamped from thin steel and plastic and are just not well made.

I'd say just keep learning and stay away from the machines made in the late 70s on.

Joe
Old 10-03-2013, 08:59 AM

Start by staying away from the ones that don't appeal to you visually.

After that, Joe pointed out some great hints about plastic gears.

As for others that should be sold with "warning" signs .....