Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Treadle belt???

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    289
    Blog Entries
    1
    HELP!!! I have aquired a treadle machine but she needs a belt. Where can I find one? I want to get her ready to go ASAP.

  2. #2
    Moderator Up North's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    North East Lower peninsula of Michigan
    Posts
    6,149
    http://www.sew4less.com/presserfeet_...3&ModelID=6279
    Here is a site to order them.

    Maybe this will give you a direct link.
    http://www.sew4less.com/QuickSearch.php

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    289
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks. Is there a certain size or all the same? I am very new to treadles. Sue

  4. #4
    Super Member drivingsusan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    S Oregon
    Posts
    1,001
    They come in one long strip and you put it on and staple it together.

  5. #5
    Super Member Charlee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    PNW (I wish it was the Ozarks!)
    Posts
    6,510
    Blog Entries
    6
    Sue, I don't bother with "treadle belts"...(You can find them on ebay, btw, for about $8)
    I use a leather bootlace trimmed down to size. Use an awl to pierce small holes in each end and a small paperclip bent to shape with pliers works as the "clamp".

    You can use anything, really...I've heard of ladies that use old pantyhose!

  6. #6
    Super Member featherweight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westminster, Co
    Posts
    2,700
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlee
    Sue, I don't bother with "treadle belts"...(You can find them on ebay, btw, for about $8)
    I use a leather bootlace trimmed down to size. Use an awl to pierce small holes in each end and a small paperclip bent to shape with pliers works as the "clamp".

    You can use anything, really...I've heard of ladies that use old pantyhose!
    Wow, Cheap maintenance huh???

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    289
    Blog Entries
    1
    Where is a good place to get needles for the girls and what size and brand are best? Do they go in the same as a FW?

  8. #8
    Super Member Charlee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    PNW (I wish it was the Ozarks!)
    Posts
    6,510
    Blog Entries
    6
    granma, it depends on the machine you have. Would need to know that in order to determine the needle size you need.
    Some take the 15x needles, some won't work with them....and not having the right needle can damage your machine...

  9. #9
    Moderator kathy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    on the Texas Coast
    Posts
    3,664
    Charlee, I never thought about needles when I got mine going again( grew up with it untill we got "uptown" and got an electric one! I never heard Mama mention needles so I just put the same one I use in my other machines, it works fine so I sure hope it's okay. how would I know if it wasn't the right one? When I sent Billy a pic. to identify it he didn't mention that I needed anything out od the ordinary.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    289
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks. G4850255. what is the best thing to clean the grime off without hurting her?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.