Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Trying to fix up a Singer 306M

  1. #11
    Super Member BoJangles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Rescue, California
    Posts
    4,585
    Blog Entries
    1
    The 306, 206, and 319 all use an "L' bobbin. I think I got mine from Sew Classic. They also all use a 206x13 needle. Some people have tried to put in a 15x1 needle, but you will mess up the timing if you try that. I'd get the correct needles for your machine. The needles and bobbins are not expensive, but you won't be able to buy them at your local JoAnnes, or Walmart. I treadle my 319w. I don't even have a motor for my machine. Those are great machines, easy to work on - I have had to re-time my 319w twice after my grandson did a number on it -, and easy to use. Did you get the cams?

    Nancy

  2. #12
    Super Member ThayerRags's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Frederick, OK
    Posts
    1,642
    Quote Originally Posted by BoJangles View Post
    ....Did you get the cams?
    Nancy
    If you’re talking about the 306M, the one shown in the first post it doesn’t take cams.

    CD in Oklahoma
    "I sew, I sew, so it's off to work I go!!!"
    ThayerRags Fabric Center
    http://thayerrags.com/

  3. #13
    Super Member BoJangles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Rescue, California
    Posts
    4,585
    Blog Entries
    1
    CD What? How interesting! You are right of course, but I thought all 306's took a cam? I googled the 306, and looked at Sandman Collectibles site on identifying Singer models. He mentions the cam knob as an indicater that you have a 306? Geeze, is this 306 just missing the parts to attach the cams, or did it never have the capability to use cams? CD can you explain? I always thought the letter behind the model number merely told where the machine was made? In this case does the 'm' mean a 306 without the ability to use cams? Geeze, I have a 306w, and it takes the flat cams!

    Nancy

  4. #14
    Super Member Caroline S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Spanaway, Washington
    Posts
    3,953
    Tis true Nancy. The 306M does not take cams. There is a flat round spot over the Singer emblem on the sewing machine where the mechanism would have been placed. We shall never know why as the Monza, Italy records were destroyed when the manufacturing plant was closed in the late 1960s.
    Sweet Caroline

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Cotswolds, England
    Posts
    58
    I have two 306k machines and I love them, they are quirky: needles, bobbin, bobbin case, and changing of bobbin but their stitch quality is premium straight and flat.

    Enjoy your new baby!

  6. #16
    Super Member BoJangles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Rescue, California
    Posts
    4,585
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Caroline S View Post
    Tis true Nancy. The 306M does not take cams. There is a flat round spot over the Singer emblem on the sewing machine where the mechanism would have been placed. We shall never know why as the Monza, Italy records were destroyed when the manufacturing plant was closed in the late 1960s.
    Wow, always something new to learn!

    Nancy

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Merritt Island, FL
    Posts
    628
    Blog Entries
    16
    Nancy, I may have messed up your thinking when I posted earlier in the thread about my 306W. I mentioned that I was going to have to start watching for some flat cams as mine came with none. Sorry if I confused you by my comment. It just struck me as strange that 2 members would be "cleaning up" a couple 306's on the same day.
    Donna

  8. #18
    Super Member BoJangles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Rescue, California
    Posts
    4,585
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by blueheavenfla View Post
    Nancy, I may have messed up your thinking when I posted earlier in the thread about my 306W. I mentioned that I was going to have to start watching for some flat cams as mine came with none. Sorry if I confused you by my comment. It just struck me as strange that 2 members would be "cleaning up" a couple 306's on the same day.
    Donna
    No Donna, you did not mess me up. I didn't know that there is a 306 that doesn't take cams! I thought all 306's took cams, and I think there are a lot of other people who thought so too! If you go to Sandman Collectibles, the cam is his way of identifing a 306 as opposed to a 206. I find it fasinating that the 306m doesn't use cams, but the 306w does! Another anomaly I suppose! Hey, I love to learn and with this obsession we are always learning!

    I guess this will teach me to look closer at the machine photos!

    Nancy

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.