Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell >

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Old 03-04-2011, 01:58 PM

Originally Posted by JaKnits
I am so excited, I picked up my new treadle today and it appears to be in really good shape. I need to get a belt for it, and find out how to oil it. The cabinet is in great shape in spite of having been painted.

The manual is crumbling, but says it was made in 1904 and is model # 939115, the machine says Standart. Does anyone know who made this machine, what type of needles and bobbins it uses, and any other info.?

Tommorrow I intend to read all the threads on cleaning and restoring these old beauties, since I am a complete newbie at this and know absolutely nothing about these vintage machines.
Thanks in advance for any info. you can give me about my exciting new treasure!
It takes a 1 x 2, or Davis Long needle.
Old 03-04-2011, 02:00 PM

Originally Posted by tomilu
Does anyone have some of the Touch and Swears (Sews)? Specifically the 600, 603, 628 or 728? I have some stuff for those models I need to find a new home for. I'm not listing for sale. You can PM me.
This looks like a good point to jump in and say that the 600 and 603 machines are all metal. I have had one of each. They both sewed great and were well made. They have both gone on to other owners, but I know that the one I cleaned up for a friend is still going strong.
Old 03-04-2011, 02:12 PM

Originally Posted by BoJangles

Tonight I got a magnifying glass and looked to see what needles I had. They were Schmetz! They came in the tube marked Boye 4, but were Schmetz needles! Just goes to show us that we better be careful what we are buying off of E-bay! I found one needle marked New Home - a longer than Schmetz needle - and now my T No 3 is sewing.