Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell >

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Old 03-15-2014, 02:00 AM
Power Poster

http://www.quiltingboard.com/vintage...u-t243144.html
I up dated there last night.
Old 03-16-2014, 04:10 PM

Hello, everyone. I'm brand new to the Quilting Board; please bear with me if I make mistakes. I'm also new to sewing and sewing machines. I just bought a machine yesterday and have spent several hours cleaning it because it was filthy and smelled like someone died. I'm not sure I'm doing this correctly. I've attached pictures so you can see what I've done so far. (The interior is next.)

[ATTACH=CONFIG]467561[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]467560[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]467559[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails p1010054.jpg   p1010047.jpg   p1010046.jpg  
Old 03-16-2014, 04:30 PM

Looks like you are doing just fine with the cleaning of the outside. Take your time cleaning the insides and ask questions as you go along. There is a lot of good members to answer your questions on this board.
Old 03-16-2014, 04:34 PM

KenmoreRulesAll,
Your machine looks great. Well done!!
Sharon Weaver in Texas
Old 03-16-2014, 05:40 PM

Default Free-Westinghouse LZ

Glenn and Sharon, thanks very much. It looked nice under that coating of dirt, lint, cobwebs, and smoker's haze. (The thickness of that coating probably protected the finish.) I doubt the machine has sewn in decades but it started right up and the light works.