What to look fer?

Old 12-04-2016, 07:16 AM

Default What to look fer?

I am new to sewing machines. A 1909 Singer 29-4 got me interested in older machines. I, now, bring home any treadle machine, or parts, that I can afford. My Bride use to sew fer our family to have clothes. When the girls left home she stopped sewing. But she is not familiar with the old treadle machines.

I have a VS machine that is complete and I thank it would sew if it was thoroughly cleaned and oiled. But, I don't know what brand it is. I can find no decals nor badges that may give a hint. There is a serial number on the door that opens to access the bobbin. I am leaning towards a Davis. Is there any little detail that will give me the answer?

Thank fer any help.
Mule
Old 12-04-2016, 07:52 AM

If you could post a pic (must be pretty small) we could probably help you out. Congrats on the start of an addiction.
Old 12-04-2016, 09:11 AM

If it's a US machine, chances are very good we can tell you want it is by looking at it.

Davis (VS) - belt goes on outside of flywheel (not side towards machine) and it has a square needle plate. Needle hole is offset from presser bar. There are few other identifiers, and those aren't limited to Davis, but it helps narrow it down.

There are several that had the serial number stamped on the slide.

Here are several Davis machines, with different types of tension. If it's got a top tension like the first, look closely as they are also a way to identify the manufacturer.

Old 12-04-2016, 09:49 AM

I'll try a picture later today.

Mine looks identical to the "honeymoon" in Cathy's first picture. Except mine has tons of caked on dirt/dust film. I don't see much in the way of clear decals. I am gonna try to clean it before I take a picture.

Mule

Last edited by confederatemule; 12-04-2016 at 09:52 AM.
Old 12-05-2016, 03:16 AM
Power Poster