Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 11 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: #15 Mystery Quilt Train Ride

#15 Mystery Quilt Train Ride

I'm calling this Fast and Furious!

I’m doing something I’ve never done before – an express train ride. This will appeal to scrappy lovers, and easily adapted to those who usually want things more orderly. This is a perfect first-timer scrappy block.
    I know the holidays are still a ways away, but if I wait 2 or 3 weeks after finishing one mystery and starting another, the train maybe won’t get many riders as they will be too busy preparing for the holidays. And I want everyone to see this beautiful block. It is an old block, updated. I’m not giving the size, that’s part of the mystery!

This mystery will appeal to confident beginners and those experienced quilters. I will give the first set of instructions, which is some of the cutting, today. And then on Oct. 17, we will be cutting more and starting to assemble, and the finally cutting and assembly will be on Oct. 19. If you only want to make one block to see how it works, it might be a good way to try this scrappy block. Pastel, bright, batik, wilds, your choice – the world’s your oyster! Make one block to see this beautiful block and I am sure you will make more. There are not any borders or sashing included in the instructions. They are for you to decide when the time comes. Make it scrappy as I will be doing, or make it with only two fabrics, a dark and a light that go nicely together, that will contrast with the background.