blood sugar testing

Old 05-16-2019, 07:29 AM
  #11  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tx
Posts: 6,028
Default

Some insurance companies are not allowing prescriptions for certain brands of strips. So I had to select new meter to get eligible insurance paid test strips.
annievee is offline  
Old 05-16-2019, 07:42 AM
  #12  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,388
Default

I have to be rigorous in my glucose monitoring. My pharmacy doesn't typically carry the strips I use so I tried a new meter. It was wildly inaccurate! Did some googles and such and found that the standards are not at all what I am comfortable, something like 15% inaccuracy either way is considered acceptable by "industry standards" but not by me. I have to know if what I am doing is working or not. My old meter on the other had tests out exactly the same as the lab tests. I now have my test strips special ordered and have to put in the request about 2 weeks before I'm out.

Anyway, the Walmart brands are actually more accurate than most. Wish I was at home where I have my test results page bookmarked.
Iceblossom is offline  
Old 05-16-2019, 08:12 AM
  #13  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,061
Default

[QUOTE=Tiggersmom;8253706]I too use this brand. The testing strips for 50 around $9 and for 100 are under $17. Due to the reasonable pricing I can test my blood sugar more frequently!

In my area the testing strips are no longer $9 . . . price has risen to $20 for 50 strips . . . but that's still cheaper than other brands. I just bought some this week.
MaryMo is offline  
Old 05-16-2019, 04:58 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CookieZenmilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 812
Default

thank you everyone for the information.
CookieZenmilk is offline  
Old 05-16-2019, 07:24 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 531
Default

My test strips and lancets are covered by my insurance. 100 day supply is less than $4.
mjkgquilt is offline  
Old 05-17-2019, 06:02 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern, Utah
Posts: 973
Default

Check with medicare about getting testing supplies paid for. I have had mine covered 100% for several years. You just have to find a pharmacy in your area that does that and fill out papers and have the Dr. send information. Go to the medicare site and look for pharmacies that are in the system.
shasta5718 is offline  
Old 05-17-2019, 11:09 AM
  #17  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 289
Default

Here's an article that might help - https://diatribe.org/are-blood-gluco...data-18-meters
There are many others, too. Just google "glucose meter accuracy."
lblank42 is offline  
Old 05-17-2019, 01:47 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 502
Default

My,doctor gave me a free meter and my test strips are paid completely through Medicare. I have to pay for the lancets. Medicare also takes care of my metformin. My Endochronologist changed my insulin pen from Lantus (which cost me about $188 for a box of 5 pens) to Tresiba which costs me $47for a box of 5 pens. But I now take a bit more insulin - 20 units which isnt really very high - so the box of pens only last about 10 weeks. I’m hoping your mother has an Endochronologist who is specifically able to deal with her diabetes instead of just a family physician (which I also have and is very good). ,any FP are not able to keep up with new things going in with diabetes. Please talk to the Medicare people to make sure she is not overpaying. My doctors have always given me free meters even when I was not old enough for Medicare.
ladyinpurple135 is offline  
Old 05-17-2019, 02:25 PM
  #19  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 1,432
Default

Originally Posted by CookieZenmilk View Post
I need to replace my elderly mom's blood sugar testing machine. any recommendations on an easy-to-use machine. I have no knowledge of any brands.
At 96 she should be covered with no cost. Medicare pays for it. As to the brand, as others have said, see what she can use.
M.Elizabeth is offline  
Old 05-17-2019, 02:56 PM
  #20  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: S C michigan
Posts: 2,118
Default

medicare will replace your meter or give you a new one. and they provide the strips. do an internet search on 'mail order diebetic supplies.
sewNso is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mzzzquilts
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
18
10-27-2011 08:56 AM
vmquilts
Pictures
119
06-02-2011 08:06 AM
Izaquilter
Pictures
22
03-09-2011 06:11 PM
cathyb
Main
16
02-07-2008 08:44 PM
Knot Sew
Main
16
10-10-2007 08:10 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.