Fray Check

Old 02-23-2019, 01:15 PM

Default Fray Check

I just finished a duffel bag & am not going to put a lining inside. I've got a lot of fraying of the seams & was wanting ideas about fray check. I've never used it before. I should be able to turn the bag inside out & zig zag some of the major seams but some I will not be able to get under my machine now that it is assembled. What are your experiences with fray check? I don't think this bag will be washed much (if any) but those seams will still continue to fray with use. Do you think fray check will solve my fraying problem?
Old 02-24-2019, 02:13 AM

It will. But be careful when you apply it not to be too generous because it darkens the fabric. Any that seeps through to the outside of the seam will show up dark.
Old 02-24-2019, 07:27 AM

Originally Posted by JustAbitCrazy View Post
It will. But be careful when you apply it not to be too generous because it darkens the fabric. Any that seeps through to the outside of the seam will show up dark.
Thanks for the reply & tip. I will be sure & keep that in mind if I decide to use it. I was able to zig zag most of the seams inside the bag & that helped a lot with the fraying. I'm going to Walmart today & will see if they have Fray Check there. This bag has been a real challenge for me. I've put more thought into it than time & I'm still making modifications.
Old 02-24-2019, 07:35 AM

It would take hand sewing, but you could always use bias binding and hand stitch to cover the fraying edges of the seams you couldn't zig zag. It seems to me that most inner seams on bags are either French Seams or covered with bias tape or something similar. I don't remember seeing any that are just left raw.

Is Fray Check waterproof? When I used it long ago....at least 10 years...I found it left a hard edge and was slightly sharp. It was on a blouse and I had to go back and cover the edges.
Old 02-24-2019, 08:13 AM
Power Poster