Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: is it just me??

is it just me??

I think this is very pricy $30.00 to register plus the cost of each class you want to take I'm new to this and thought by joining some of these events I could mingle with fellow quilters and make some friends but at these prices (I'm on a fix income) don't think that's going to happen thank goodness for quilting board...... priceless..... here is the link http://www.nqaquilts.org/classes/annual-quilt-show/

Yes, just to sign up is a little pricey if it does NOT include any supplies. Keep on looking and I am sure you will find something much more reasonable.
    A Good Friend, like an old quilt, is both a Treasure and a Comfort

This would be a great opportunity to learn from many well known quilters/teachers. You would meet people from many different places. With your registration you get a bag, pin, and admission to the vendor mall for every day of the show. That is not unreasonable when you consider that the entry alone can be $10 to $15 per day for a well known show. Also the fees for the classes and lectures are in line with and in some cases below what you will find elsewhere. I saw that for some of the classes machines if needed were supplied. When you add it all up it can be expensive but what an experience.
    jackie

Check out the free tutorials available here on the board as well as other web sites on-line like those by the Missouri Star Quilt Company. There will be one for just about anything you want to make.
    Fabric is like money, no matter how much you have it's never enough.

classes combined with big shows are always a little high. Think what it costs to rent a city's convention center...a fortune which has to be covered by entry fees etc.

That said I wouldn't pay it either but I'm a bottom feeder