Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/)
-   -   HELP----Making a lettuced edge with fishing line (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/help-making-lettuced-edge-fishing-line-t93518.html)

mommafank 01-24-2011 02:01 PM

Has anyone done this successfully and if so-------------I need tips ASAP. Trying to make ruffles for an Irish dance dress for my DGD

Prism99 01-24-2011 03:15 PM

Are you using a serger? Also, are you really using fishing line? Or is it an invisible nylon or polyester thread?

I'm no expert, but I did some lettuce edges years ago on my serger. The fabric has to be a knit or else cut on the bias. This is because the edge must stretch in order to get the lettucing effect. As I recall, I set the machine up for a satin stitch (narrow stitch that is close together) and set the differential feed to stretch the fabric the maximum amount.

You don't need invisible thread to do a lettuce edge. Any type of thread will do it. Are you intending to use fishing line inside the stitching? I never did it that way, but I think the trick would be to feed the line in such a way that it is not cut by the blade but still enclosed within the stitches. I would think you need a special foot for that -- something similar to a pintucking foot with a guide for the fishing line to be fed in. For a serger, that might be the foot used for adding pearls-on-a-string to a garment.

sewgull 01-24-2011 03:42 PM

I did some ruffles for a square dance costume using fishing line. It was fairly easy to do.
I used fishing line that was about the size of a pencil lead. Zig zag over the line to cover. Try different stitch width and length until you find the setting best suited for your needs.
If I can be more help let me know.

sewwhat85 01-24-2011 10:21 PM