Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/)
-   -   How do you repair small hole on fabric that requires cool iron? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/how-do-you-repair-small-hole-fabric-requires-cool-iron-t304415.html)

Sheri.a 04-27-2019 10:49 AM

How do you repair small hole on fabric that requires cool iron?

My husbands shirt is made of 70% polyester and 30% Modal fabric. The care instructions say to use a cool iron. There is a very small hole (about the size of head of a pin - the old fashion kind). I'm at a loss on how to repair it since my first go to is to use fusible web and fabric.

Thanks for your help!!

SillySusan 04-27-2019 11:09 AM

I'm no expert, but if it were my shirt with that kind of tiny hole, I'd rub my fingernail across it to see if the fibers would relax and fill the hole. Instead of a real hole in the fabric, maybe the fibers are just a little out of place. It seems like to me, any repair would make the hole much more noticeable and possibly even more serious. Remember, I'm no expert!

bearisgray 04-27-2019 11:10 AM

My first thought would be to use something like Fray Check or Fray Block on the hole.

If you do decide to use it, test it on/in an inconspicuous place. It might dry stiff or discolor the fabric or dissolve the fabric.

I've used it to seal the edges of burn holes on my husband's shirts - one was wool and one was chamois cotton flannel.

JustAbitCrazy 04-27-2019 04:57 PM

Maybe Bo Nash would work. Can't remember if you need to iron that stuff or not.

cashs_mom 04-27-2019 05:33 PM

There are low temp fusibles out there that you could use. But I'm kind of with Susan, if it's that small I'd try to push the fibers into place to cover it first.

Anniedeb 04-27-2019 06:29 PM