Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/)
-   -   North kansas city missouri (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/north-kansas-city-missouri-t266360.html)

scrapnut 06-13-2015 10:38 AM

North kansas city missouri

Hope to make a business trip/anniversary trip to this area in July. Other than Missouri Star Quilt Company, which I will be devoting a large portion of one day to, are there any quilt stores you would recommend to visit? My husband's hobby is wood-turning. Does anyone know of any good shopping adventures for this craft as well?

For those of you who live in the Kansas City area, what part of town do you recommend avoiding in order to not become a potential victim of crime. Sorry, I work in law enforcement and this is the first thing I think of when planning vacations and mapping hotels stays. Just the nature of my beast.

Thank you for you help.

Blackberry 06-14-2015 05:24 AM

You should plan to visit Peddler's Wagon in Parkville. There are also other neat places to visit in this small quaint town. I would pretty much steer clear of the prospect, troost, paseo area. These are street names.

pahega 06-15-2015 04:55 AM

Cameron, MO is just a few miles from Hamilton, and there is a good shop there--Crossroads Quilting. I also think that Jan Patek has a shop there but have not been to it. On the east side of Kansas City, there is an awesome shop called Quilters Station in Lee's Summit. It has gorgeous hand dyed wools, flannels, cottons, lots of notions. Sorry, but I don't have any suggestions for wood turning. Have fun!

scarlet14 06-15-2015 05:39 AM

Be sure to go to Jamesport Mo---an awesome Amish community---interesting shops and great food---a quilt shop there too

nonnaof5 06-15-2015 07:12 AM