Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/)
-   -   Question about starch (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/question-about-starch-t251303.html)

Fifee 08-04-2014 03:46 AM

Question about starch

How do you stop spray starch from ruining your ironing board?

This might be considered a stupid question but please bare in mind that I've never used starch in my life before starting quilting. Since using spray starch the cover for my ironing board has become incredibly stiff and even torn in places due to the amount of starch thats accumulated on it over the past while. I realise that I will now have to buy a new one but how do I protect the new one from ending up like the current one?

Silly question I know!

CindyA 08-04-2014 04:42 AM

I use a table top ironing board for quilting so that I don't have to worry about ruining my good ironing board. My friend made an ironing pad that folds up nice and small for storage. She bought the metallic stuff, layered it, and backed it. She uses this only for quilting projects.

mawluv 08-04-2014 05:23 AM

I make a new cover when the old one gets dirty. Just use your old one as a pattern,or just trace around your board, then be sure to allow for the edge of board and casing for your string or elastic.

Onebyone 08-04-2014 05:41 AM

I put muslin or pretty cotton fabric around the board and pin in place using safety pins. I take it off and wash it when it gets grungy. If you do take the fitted cover off and wash, put it back on the board while it's wet. It will dry and fit the board tight with no wrinkles. And it's much easier to get on the board wet.

tessagin 08-04-2014 05:56 AM

I have made a couple with a drawstring from old cover used for a pattern. Super easy to wash. Mine were made from old sheets with large thread count.