Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/)
-   -   removing Blood Stain from a quilt (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/removing-blood-stain-quilt-t302056.html)

Mariah 01-06-2019 10:22 AM

removing Blood Stain from a quilt

Does anyone have a sure-fire way to remove Blood Stain from an antique quilt? If so, please share.
Thanks, Mariah

Kassaundra 01-06-2019 10:44 AM

If it hasn't been dried in a dryer hydrogen peroxide removes blood. I am a paramedic and we use it all the time.

cashs_mom 01-06-2019 11:04 AM

I've always used my mother's way to remove a blood stain. It's not the fastest way but does no harm to the fabric. Soak in cold water overnight (or as long as it takes). After soaking over night, I rub the fabric together over the stain and it usually comes right out. If not, I repeat the process until it does. This works best if the fabric has not been washed and dried. And use No warm or hot water.

Then I spray with a bit of Biz or Oxyclean stain remover just in case and wash in cold water.

osewme 01-06-2019 11:35 AM

If it is your blood on the quilt, I've heard that your saliva will get it out. But it has to be your blood & your saliva. Otherwise, I've always soaked the item in cold water before doing anything else. This will get out most of the stain & then follow Cashs_mom above for finishing.

Tothill 01-06-2019 01:38 PM

I am in the cold water camp. I use cold water and Ivory soap (the bar). Soap in cold water and then on a hard flat surface rub it with the Ivory soap. I generally use my fingernails (If I know whose blood it is), or a old plastic card, such as a credit card and rub back and forth. I have used this technique for years and it works. It works well for period leaks too.