Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/)
-   -   Song lyrics (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/song-lyrics-t312287.html)

bearisgray 08-28-2020 09:11 AM

Song lyrics

Do you actually listen to the lyrics of some songs?

I've been looking up the lyrics from some songs that I can only remember a line or two of - -

And the Band Played on - written in 1895
Teacher's Pet - 1950's version
The Lion Sleeps Tonight
School Days
Mairzy Doats

I don't even try to understand what the rappers are saying - I can't hear that fast - and I probably would not like what i was hearing if I could understand it!

Have you ever been surprised by what the actual lyrics to a song are?

Iceblossom 08-28-2020 09:42 AM

I was a trained musician and I typically hear lyrics very well. I also tend to understand heavily accented people better than many other people as well.

I'm always amazed when people think bitter break up songs are romantic! Or when they are confused on the meaning of the song Born in the USA.

As for Mairzy Doats...

Mares eat oats and does eat oats and little lambs eat ivy!
A kid will eat ivy too -- wouldn't you?

And yeah, that is off the top of my head so maybe minor mistake on the translation verse :)

bearisgray 08-28-2020 09:52 AM

Born in the USA - I just read all the lyrics. Oh. My.

mjkgquilt 08-28-2020 01:56 PM

IceBlossom, I remember those words from a song popular during WW2. Not too sure of the meaning of the words.

ladyinpurple135 08-28-2020 04:32 PM

It took me years to get the words to the Flintstones theme🥴🥴😄. Still working on Louie, Louie🤭

quiltingshorttimer 08-28-2020 05:35 PM

usually, although I wouldn't win any radio contest! My husband routinely gets song lyrics stuck in his head for days.

toverly 08-29-2020 03:21 AM