Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/)
-   -   What do you know about Shaklee? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/what-do-you-know-about-shaklee-t84940.html)

Naturalmama 12-24-2010 11:15 AM

A friend asked me to come to an info meeting next week - I've gotten involved with things she's sold before and I'm not wanting to "join" something just to buy a product. I'm not asking for opinions on the product, just would like to know how they work. I don't have to commit to buying $50 of stuff per month or anything like that, do I? Just would like to know before I make a decision to go or not.
:wink:

bj 12-24-2010 11:48 AM

When I was a new teacher, there was a lady that came after school sometimes and took orders. I remember her because she was so funny, but the thing she always said if you said you didn't need anything was, "It's what you need in life that makes you happy, it's what you want!" I don't know how selling it works, but there was never any pressure to buy. I don't think it's set up like a club with minimum requirements, but it may have changed.

mommaB 12-24-2010 11:54 AM

I'm pretty sure its a pyramid scheme, very similar to Amway. It will be high pressure to join the ranks, then you try to get people to buy stuff, but you make your money by getting others to join..not my cup of tea.

Then again I could be totally wrong!

#1piecemaker 12-24-2010 11:58 AM

Tell her to forget it. (In a nice way of course) These pyramid sales promotions are for the top cats. There products are hard to sell and the ones making the money are on top of the food chain.

Naturalmama 12-24-2010 12:19 PM