Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
Question to Miniature Dachshund owners >

Question to Miniature Dachshund owners

Question to Miniature Dachshund owners

Old 01-02-2019, 11:27 AM

Default Question to Miniature Dachshund owners

I see there are a number of dachshund owners online. I'm hoping someone can help me with dog food selection.

My mini-long-haired dachshund just turned 7. She is on the small side of mini. I've been feeding her Canin Dachshund food for about 6 years. Within the last year she has been gaining weight. Recently I put her on the diet food for her daily eating regime. It hasn't helped, so I started decreasing her food and feed her small amounts during the day, but she doesn't seem to be satisfied. I'm thinking there is a better solution to this dilemma.

I am looking for advice to help her slim down.

Thank you!
Old 01-02-2019, 11:44 AM
Power Poster

What does your vet advise?
Old 01-02-2019, 11:55 AM

More exercise?
Old 01-02-2019, 12:05 PM

Dachshunds are definitely prone to getting chubby especially as they get older. Being total chow hounds could have something to do with that! I used to feed my chubby dogs green beans with their food to fill them up without putting a lot of weight on them. Don't use the canned kind because they contain a lot of salt. I used to buy fresh and steam a bunch then keep in the frig till I needed them or use frozen. I'd just thaw some of the frozen ones and out and use them until they were used up. Very convenient. More exercise would definitely be good for her.
Old 01-02-2019, 12:53 PM

I second the green beans idea. I would also use them as treats. That's something I had to implement when my Dachshund was older and he would eat anything so beans were great. In the summer he liked the frozen beans. My daughter gives her Cairn Terrier frozen blueberries at lunchtime
Old 01-02-2019, 02:57 PM

Cashs_mom: Thanks so much for your advice! What brand dog food did you use?