Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Question to Miniature Dachshund owners

Blog Entries

Question to Miniature Dachshund owners

I see there are a number of dachshund owners online. I'm hoping someone can help me with dog food selection.

My mini-long-haired dachshund just turned 7. She is on the small side of mini. I've been feeding her Canin Dachshund food for about 6 years. Within the last year she has been gaining weight. Recently I put her on the diet food for her daily eating regime. It hasn't helped, so I started decreasing her food and feed her small amounts during the day, but she doesn't seem to be satisfied. I'm thinking there is a better solution to this dilemma.

I am looking for advice to help her slim down.

Thank you!

What does your vet advise?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Sew many ideas ... just sew little time!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/

Blog Entries
    More exercise?

Dachshunds are definitely prone to getting chubby especially as they get older. Being total chow hounds could have something to do with that! I used to feed my chubby dogs green beans with their food to fill them up without putting a lot of weight on them. Don't use the canned kind because they contain a lot of salt. I used to buy fresh and steam a bunch then keep in the frig till I needed them or use frozen. I'd just thaw some of the frozen ones and out and use them until they were used up. Very convenient. More exercise would definitely be good for her.
    Patrice S

Bernina Artista 180, Singer 301a, Featherweight Centennial, Rocketeer, Juki 2200 QVP Mini, White 1964 Featherweight