Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   Good morning from Illinois! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/good-morning-illinois-t199805.html)

Justamom410 09-07-2012 07:37 AM

Good morning from Illinois!

Hi everyone. I'm brand new to quilting and sewing in general. I have a 3 year old daughter, who we consider our miracle child, and I started to become interested in quilting when I had to clean out all her old clothes from her closet. I did some research and found baby clothes quilts and really wanted to make one using our favorite outfits from her infancy. However, being a newbie, I didn't want to mess it up...so I'm practicing by making quilts for my pregnant friends.

I'm in the midst of my very first quilt. I used the precut squares from the store (will practice cutting later) and I've gotten all the squares sewn together. Not very straight, but not bad for my first go. I've added 2 borders and will just be starting basting and the actual quilting.

I borrowed my mom's old Brother machine...but it died on me. So my first question to you all is...what machine do you recommend for a brand new quilter? I want to keep it under $150 if possible.

Thanks all! :)

Amy

Lisa_wanna_b_quilter 09-07-2012 07:45 AM

Welcome to the board from central Illinois. You will get zillions of machine ideas. Everyone has a favorite. I love my Brothers. I have a little cheapie from Walmart that I have pieced and quilted many quilts on.

Tartan 09-07-2012 07:59 AM

Welcome from Ontario, Canada. Try one of the inexpensive ones from Walmart after checking out their return policy. If you hate it, you can return it and start saving for another machine. Congratulations on piecing your first top, may it be the first step in a long quilting career.

Neesie 09-07-2012 08:01 AM

Howdy and welcome, from Texas!

Janet L52 09-07-2012 08:20 AM