Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   Greetings from Clover, SC (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/greetings-clover-sc-t229686.html)

heranoir 09-07-2013 02:47 PM

Greetings from Clover, SC

Hello All!!

I am Deborah. I am 47 years old and I am a beginner to intermediate quilter. I have not been quilting very long....about 6 months and I am absolutely loving it.

I had worked in the oil fields in Southern California for almost 11 years, and due to an unfortunate infection I lost my leg last Christmas and now with all of my heart complications I am not able to work. This was driving me insane I have to tell you because I had been a worker all of my life and was quite used to working 12 or 13 hour days every day. Needless to say this did not leave me with much of a personal life to do much of anything.

Last November, my daughter and family decided that I was just too sick to be out in Cali alone and they moved me home to Clover, SC. The funniest thing happened, I met the love of my life sitting on my mother's back porch the day I arrived. He tells me that he loved me from the first moment he saw me and has been with me ever since (through sickness, amputations, and whatever else has been thrown at him).

Anywho, I was so bored I could just spit. Then that little light bulb started to spark and I said to myself "Hey, why not get on that quilting thing that you have always wanted to do!" So I did, and here I am. I am taking classes, and have actually sold a couple of my pieces. I believe I have a modern style that is a bit gothic (colors and themes).