Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   Greetings and "Sew"utations! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/greetings-sew-utations-t249187.html)

lovinlocks 06-28-2014 07:54 AM

Greetings and "Sew"utations!

Quilting newbie here, please call me "Lyric". Nurturing my joy of the D9P quilt pattern I stumbled upon this Forum thankfully. My fam hails from the southern portion of the USA where we are building a small family farm (did I say smaallll?).

One "interesting" point - we live off the electrical grid and after having purchased the sewing machine of my dreams (Viking Husqvarna) I married and had to come up with another way to sew. In comes an antique hand crank and treadle sewing machine.

Finally, diving into learning the craft, I went to a Sister in my congregation and asked her to teach me how to quilt. It was the fall of 2013. I told her I wanted to make a scrap quilt. Get this . . . the strips are still hanging in their places and I've made a couple quilted totes, and a Versatile Wave purse. I have YET to make an actual bed quilt, LOL. I am kinda glad I did not immediately put together the strips because after we cut them out I began reading everything I could get my hands on about quilting and I discovered the Courthouse Steps quilt. Consequently, my "first" bed quilt with be of that style (I will rename it though) with red centers. Uw, I'm so excited.

Tartan 06-28-2014 08:39 AM

Welcome from Ontario, Canada. I have a Singer treadle that I still use. I do like my electric sewing machines though. Do you have any electricity? I would find it hard to live without refrigeration, computer and right now...air conditioning!

Angel Bear 06-28-2014 10:55 AM